Archive for August 13th, 2007

Drugs can’t cure Oppositional Defiance Disorder

When Mike was first diagnosed with Oppositional Defiance Disorder, we thought using getting a prescription drug would help control his behavior, God knows we needed to try something! He was out of control! He wouldn’t listen, always acted out and his teachers repeatedly complained about his behavior in school. We were at our wits end….

The diagnosis gave us hope that we would be able to help control his behavior. Our doctor recommended putting him on medication. It seemed like it was the answer to our prayers. We had him on the medication for about 6 months and his behavior was a million times better! But something wasn’t right, he was lethargic and apathetic. He seemed to lose a bit of his personality.

So we did some research on treating oppositional defiance disorder. After I read this article, I started to cry.

I realized that in my efforts to make my life easier and calmer I was poisoning my son. I was looking for an easy solution instead of helping my son cope with his disorder.

I mean, did I expect him to be on these pills for the rest of his life? That is ubsurd. It is also obsurd to think that these drugs that were to treat schizophrenia and bipolar disorder in adults wouldn’t somehow negatively affect Mike’s development.

I was pissed at the doctor for not telling me that there is no research on the long-term effects of these drugs.

But more importantly I’m pissed at myself trying to take the easy road. I wasn’t helping Mike with his oppositional defiance disorder by feeding him anti-psychotic pills, I was making my life easier.

Since then we’ve begun a behavior modification program with Mike and the results have been phenomenal! He is not acting out nearly as much as before, he’s much more respectful and he’s healthy! The transformation has been great but what’s most important is our relationship is stronger. I feel like I can love him again and he truly loves me.

Drugs should be used only as a last resort. If your child is suffering from oppositional defiance disorder, try a proven behavior modification program first. You’ll be glad you did.

Holly~


August 2007
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
html hit counter